Nonprofit Mission Awards

Responsive Philanthropy Award

Nominators should thoroughly review the overall criteria below and the criteria within the applicable categories. Organizations may be nominated in multiple categories if they meet the criteria within each category and submit a separate nomination for each category.

Nomination Deadline: Sunday, May 12, 2024 at 11:59 p.m.

Preview survey questions

Nominate a Nonprofit!

Play Icon     Watch video of 2023 Responsive Philanthropy Award Recipient: Blandin Foundation

If you have any questions, please contact [email protected].

2024 Responsive Philanthropy Logo

Responsive Philanthropy Award Selection Criteria

The Responsive Philanthropy Award recognizes the partnership between funders and nonprofits in mobilizing resources for public benefit. Nominated organizations should:

  • Be responsive to citizen initiatives;
  • Recognize public policy issues and long-term strategies to fight problems; and
  • Commit substantial resources to disadvantaged people and Minnesota communities through a process of dialogue and partnership.
This award is intended to honor the work of private foundations, community foundations, or corporate giving programs in Minnesota. Once a nomination form is completed, the nominated funder will be asked to complete an application to further provide detail on their organization and philanthropic focus.

Additional Criteria

Nominated organizations for any award category must meet the following criteria.

  • The achievements of the organization must be relevant (i.e. should have taken place within approximately the last 12-18 months).
  • Nominated organizations must be based in Minnesota, even if their work serves populations outside of Minnesota.
  • Organizations nominated must be a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. Programs of nonprofits, unincorporated nonprofits, and coalitions of nonprofits may apply for the Nonprofit Mission Awards. Government entities, business entities, and individuals are not eligible to apply.
  • Organizations may be nominated in more than one award category, but must submit a separate nomination for each category and must answer the criteria specific to each award.
  • Organizations may self nominate or apply on their own behalf. Organizations may be nominated by others for Nonprofit Mission Awards for Innovation, Anti-racism Initiative, Advocacy, and Responsive Philanthropy.