Nonprofit Mission Awards

Innovation Award

Nominators should thoroughly review the overall criteria below and the criteria within the applicable categories. Organizations may be nominated in multiple categories if they meet the criteria within each category and submit a separate nomination for each category.

If you have any questions, please contact

UPDATE (April 30, 2020): The 2020 Nonprofit Mission Awards program has been suspended, as MCN refocuses our resources, capacity, and priorities to address the evolving needs of our members during this challenging time. We fully intend to bring these inspiring awards back in 2021, and hope you'll consider nominating your nonprofit at that time. Thank you for your understanding.
Innovation Award

Innovation Award Selection Criteria

The Innovation Award recognizes creative applications and nontraditional approaches to solving community challenges. Nominated nonprofit innovations should:

  • Bring creative solutions to community challenges;
  • Employ a variety of strategies in developing these solutions; and
  • Collaborate with other nonprofit organizations, businesses, and governmental agencies in their efforts.

This award is intended to honor true innovation in the work of a nonprofit. This award is not intended to recognize overall organizational achievements.

Additional Criteria

Nominated organizations for any award category must meet the following criteria.

  • The achievements of the organization must be relevant (i.e. should have taken place within approximately the last 12-18 months).
  • Nominated organizations must be based in Minnesota, even if their work serves populations outside of Minnesota.
  • Organizations nominated must be a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. Programs of nonprofits, unincorporated nonprofits, and coalitions of nonprofits may apply for the Nonprofit Mission Awards. Government entities, business entities, and individuals are not eligible to apply.
  • Organizations may be nominated in more than one award category, but must submit a separate nomination for each category and must answer the criteria specific to each award.
  • Organizations may self-nominate or apply on their own behalf. Organizations may be nominated by others for Nonprofit Mission Awards for Innovation, Anti-racism Initiative, Advocacy, and Responsive Philanthropy.